How to delete my account from a social network (Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat…)?

Quick Access to Content – Summary

If you’ve decided to delete your social media accounts, you probably must have realized that most of them don’t make it easy.

Don’t panic though, because if you can’t find your way to freedom, we’ve found it for you. so here’s our guide to delete your Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, Gmail, Pinterest and WhatsApp account, thank you to www.blog-united.com for having referred us during our research.

Delete your Facebook account

On Facebook, the deletion of your account and your personal data is only effective after a period of 14 days. This period is set up by Facebook to allow you to retract if you change your mind.

To delete your Facebook account, go to your account settings and click on the “Your Facebook information” section. You will then need:

On the same page you also have the option to temporarily deactivate your account instead of permanently deleting it.

Deactivating your account makes it possible not to delete your account from the Facebook database and therefore to find it later. You will also keep access to Messenger to chat with your friends.

Delete your Instagram account

To delete your Instagram account, you must use an internet browser from your smartphone, tablet or PC. This operation is in fact not available from the application.

Once you have logged into your account on the browser, you will need to go to the “delete your account” page then:

  • Answer the question “Why are you deleting your account”.
  • Enter your Instagram password.
  • Click on “permanently delete my account”.

Note, however, that if you delete your account, you will not be able to recreate one with the same credentials. If you plan to return to Instagram, you can also temporarily deactivate your account on the “Temporarily deactivate account” page, then:

  • Answer the question “Why are you deactivating your account”
  • Enter your Instagram password
  • Click on “Temporarily deactivate the account”

Delete your Twitter account

To delete your Twitter account, simply go to your account settings and:

  • Click on “Deactivate your account”At the very bottom of the page.
  • Twitter informs you of the consequences of deleting your account.
  • If you agree, confirm the request by clicking “Deactivate”.

Your account will then be deactivated after 30 days. Compared to other social networks, this option is not aptly named because, after this period, we are talking about a definitive deletion of the account and not a temporary deactivation.

Delete your Snapchat account

As with Instagram, it is not possible to delete a Snapchat account directly from the app. You must therefore go through an internet browser on your smartphone, tablet or PC for the procedure to follow:

  • Go to the account deletion page.
  • Log in with your Snapchat credentials.
  • Click “Continue” to confirm your request.

After this action your Snapchat account will be deactivated for a period of 30 days, allowing you to reconnect if you change your mind. But after this time, your account will be deleted.

Delete your Gmail account

You have the option of deleting only your Gmail account or all of the services linked to it. Your Gmail account allows you to have access to most of Google’s services (Drive, YouTube, etc.). To do this, you must:

This is when you will have the choice between:

  • “Delete products” and therefore Gmail in particular.
  • “Delete Google Account and Related Data” to delete all services from your Google Account.

If you only want to delete your Gmail address, however, you will be asked to provide another email address in order to continue to access other Google services. It is after this last step that your Gmail account will be deleted.

Delete your Pinterest account

Pinterest gives you the choice to temporarily delete or deactivate your account. To do this, you must go to the “…” menu and:

  • Choose “Change settings”.
  • Enter “Basic account settings”.
  • Click on “Permanently close my account” or “Deactivate my account”
  • Answer the question “Tell us why you are leaving us”.
  • Click once again on “Permanently close my account” or “Deactivate my account”.

There is, however, an additional step if you decide to close your account. You will indeed receive an email on the associated address to confirm its permanent deletion.

Delete your WhatsApp account

To delete your WhatsApp account, you must open the application and go to the account settings via the “…” menu and then:

  • Select “Delete my account”.
  • Enter your phone number
  • Confirm by clicking on “Continue”.

After this step all of your information (profile, photo, messages, discussion groups) will be deleted from the service within 90 days. Messages that you have already sent will however still be visible to your old WhatsApp contacts.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on skype
Share on twitter
Scroll to Top